Welcome to Edinburgh!

When you arrive in Edinburgh, there are a few things you need to know about checking in to your University accommodation.

You should familiarise yourself with the arrival procedures so that moving goes as smoothly as possible. 

Arrival information 2019/20

You will not be able to move into your accommodation before your lease start date.

Arrival information January 2020

Arrival Information (Term Time)

November 2019

If you have fully accepted online, your contract of University accommodation, you should print a copy of your Arrivals Pass and follow the arrival information below.

If you have NOT fully accepted your online contract, please go to the Reception Centre at Pollock Halls of Residence on your arrival where our staff will assist you.

 

Your Accommodation

Key collection point

Ascham Court

ascham-court@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

  EH16 5AY

Baird House

baird-house@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

Beaverbank

 Beaver-bank@ed.ac.uk

  9am-5.30pm Monday-Friday

  Beaverbank Place Reception

  17 Beaverbank Place

  EH7 4FB

*outwith Security team on 0131 557 0201 / 07469415693*

Blackfriars Street

blackfriars-st@ed.ac.uk

 24hr Reception

Safestay

  50 Blackfriars Street

EH1 1NE

0131 524 1989

Blackwood Crescent

blackwood-  causewayside@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

  EH16 5AY

Brae House

Brae-house@ed.ac.uk

Monday - Friday 8am -8pm.  Saturday & Sunday 10am -2pm

Brae House Reception

 31-33 Abbeyhill

 EH8 8EH

*if no-one at Reception call 0131 201 2083*

Bridge House

Bridge-house@ed.ac.uk

 8.15am-8pm Monday-Friday and 1.20pm-5pm Saturday  

  Reception 

  123 Fountainbridge,

  West Tollcross

  EH3 9QG

 

*out-with call 0300 303 1611 when you are 30 minutes away from arriving*

 

Buccleuch Place and Buccleuch Place Lane

Buccleuch-place@ed.ac.uk

Buccleuch-place-lane@ed.ac.uk

  Reception

  7 Richmond Place

  EH8 9ST

Causewayside

blackwood-    causewayside@ed.ac.uk

 

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

Chancellors Court - Arthurs Seat

chancellors-court@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

 Chancellors Court - Crags

chancellors-court@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

College Wynd

college-wynd@ed.ac.uk

  Reception

  7 Richmond Place

EH8 9ST

Darroch Court

darroch-court@ed.ac.uk

  Reception

  7 Richmond Place

EH8 9ST

David Horn House

david-horn-house@ed.ac.uk

  Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

Deaconess House

deaconess@ed.ac.uk

  Reception

  7 Richmond Place

EH8 9ST

East Newington Place

east-newington-place@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

 

Ewing House

ewing-house@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

 

Fraser Court

fraser-court@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

Grant House

grant-house@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

 

Haddington Place

haddington-place@ed.ac.uk

Monday - Friday 9am -5pm.

Reception

38A Haddington Place

Edinburgh

EH7 4AG

*if arriving outwith this time call 0131 202 861 ir 02392242151*

Hermit's Croft

hermits-croft@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

Holland House

holland-house@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

 

Holland Annexe

fraser-court@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

 

John Burnett House

johnburnett-house@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

 

Kincaid's Court

kincaids-court@ed.ac.uk

  Reception

  7 Richmond Place

EH8 9ST

Kitchener House

kitchener-house@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

Lee House

lee-house@ed.ac.uk

 

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

 

Morgan Court

morgan-court@ed.ac.uk

  Reception

  7 Richmond Place

EH8 9ST

 

Murano Place

Murano-Place@ed.ac.uk

 

9am-6pm Monday- Friday

  Site Office

  Murano Place

  3-5 Amphion Lane

  EH7 5FL

*outwith contact Security on 07557369106 or 07342077350*

Mylne's Court

mylnes-court@ed.ac.uk

  Reception

  7 Richmond Place

EH8 9ST

New Arthur Place

new-arthur-place@ed.ac.uk

  Reception

  7 Richmond Place

EH8 9ST

New Park

new-park@ed.ac.uk

Monday - Friday  8am - 6pm.   Saturday & Sunday 9am -6pm

Reception, Block B

  14-18 Bothwell Street

  Edinburgh

EH7 5PS

*if arriving between 6pm-8am you will need to call 0131 652 2767

Nicholson Street

nicst-south-college-st@ed.ac.uk

  Reception

  7 Richmond Place

  EH8 9ST

O’Shea North:

Flats & studios

Holyrood-Site@ed.ac.uk

  O’Shea Residence Hall

  9D Holyrood Road

  EH8 8FQ

 

O’Shea North:

Residence Hall

Holyrood-Site@ed.ac.uk

  O’Shea Residence Hall

  9D Holyrood Road

  EH8 8FQ

 

O’Shea South

Holyrood-Site@ed.ac.uk

 

 

  O’Shea Residence Hall

  9D Holyrood Road

  EH8 8FQ

 

Ratcliffe Terrace

ratcliffe-terrace@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

Richmond Place

richmond-place@ed.ac.uk

Reception

7 Richmond Place

EH8 9ST

Riego Street

riego-street@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

Robertson's Close

robertsons-close@ed.ac.uk

Reception

7 Richmond Place

EH8 9ST

Roxburgh Place

richmond-place@ed.ac.uk

Reception

7 Richmond Place

EH8 9ST

Salisbury Court

salisbury-court@ed.ac.uk

8am-8pm Monday-Friday. 9am-6pm Saturday.*

Reception

Salisbury Court

104 St Leonard’s Street

EH8 9RD

*outwith call Mobile Security team 30 mins prior to arrival on 0300 303 1611*

Sciennes &

Sciennes Place

sciennes-site@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

Shrubhill

Shrub-hill@ed.ac.uk

 

  9am-6pm Monday- Friday

  Reception

  Shrubhill Place

  8 Middlefield

  EH7 4QW

*outwith contact Security on 07557369106 or 07342077350*

South Clerk Street

south-clerk-st@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

South College Street

NicSt-South-CollegeSt@ed.ac.uk

  Reception

  7 Richmond Place

EH8 9ST

Turner House

turner-house@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

 

Warrender Park Crescent

warrender-park-cres@ed.ac.uk

*Wednesday 8th January 9am-10pm: Warrender Park Crescent Common Room, 24-33 Warrender Park Crescent, EH9 1DY*

All other times: Pollock Halls Main Reception, 18 Holyrood Park Road, Edinburgh, EH16 5AY

Warrender Park Road

warrender-park-road@ed.ac.uk

*Wednesday 8th January 9am-10pm: Warrender Park Crescent Common Room, 24-33 Warrender Park Crescent, EH9 1DY*

All other times: Pollock Halls Main Reception, 18 Holyrood Park Road, Edinburgh, EH16 5AY

West Mains Road

west-mains-road@ed.ac.uk

Reception Centre

Pollock Halls of Residence

18 Holyrood Park Road

EH16 5AY

 

Arrival procedures, including check-in and key collection.

This information may be subject to change; you are advised to check this page for the latest news just before setting out for Edinburgh.

If you have accepted your contract offer of University accommodation and paid in full, you will be able to move directly in to your allocated accommodation and should follow key collection procedures below.

Key Collection and Arrival

On arrival in Edinburgh, please go directly to the Site Office noted in the table below to collect the keys for your flat, before going to your accommodation. 

Staff will be available from 09:00 - 22:00 on site on Sundays 23 June, 14 July and 4 August to welcome you.

Allocated Accommodation

Site Office (including Edinburgh post code)

Site email address for late arrivals

East Newington Place

Sciennes common room, 28 Sciennes, EH9 1NJ

east-newington-place@ed.ac.uk

New Arthur Place

Richmond Place reception, 7 Richmond Place, EH8 9ST

new-arthur-place@ed.ac.uk

Nicolson/South College Street

Richmond Place reception, 7 Richmond Place, EH8 9ST

nicst-south-college-st@ed.ac.uk

Ratcliffe Terrace

Sciennes common room, 28 Sciennes, EH9 1NJ

ratcliffe-terrace@ed.ac.uk

Riego Street

Riego common room, EH3 9BL

riego-street@ed.ac.uk

Sciennes 

Sciennes common room, 28 Sciennes, EH9 1NJ

sciennes-site@ed.ac.uk

Sciennes Place

Sciennes common room, 28 Sciennes, EH9 1NJ

sciennes-site@ed.ac.uk

South Clerk Street

South Clerk Street common room, 38/6 South Clerk Street, EH8 9PS

south-clerk-st@ed.ac.uk

Late arrivals


If you are going to arrive after 22:00 (10pm) please contact us in advance on the relevant Site email address above so we can make arrangements for access. If you are unexpectedly delayed, please go to our main Reception Centre at Pollock Halls, 18 Holyrood Park Road, EH16 5AY; our Community Support Team will arrange access to your accommodation on a temporary basis.

If arriving on or after the Monday start date of your course, you should go directly to class at Moray House. Access to your accommodation can then be gained between 18:00 and 19:00 (6.00pm and 7.00pm) at the relevant Site Office above, where staff will be able to assist you.

If arriving outwith these times please go directly to our main Reception Centre at Pollock Halls, 18 Holyrood Park Road, EH16 5AY; our Community Support Team will arrange access to your accommodation on a temporary basis and you will be able to collect your keys from the site office the following day.

 

If you have fully accepted your contract of University accommodation continuing students can collect keys at our main Reception Centre* at Pollock Halls, 18 Holyrood Park Road, EH16 5AY from 12:00 (12 noon) on the day your lease starts; please bring your student ID.

*Deaconess Studio keys are collected from Richmond Place Reception, 5-9 Richmond Place, EH8 9ST.

Keys will continue to be held at the Reception Centre until they are collected. You will not be able to collect keys for fellow flatmates.

To receive your keys and tenant information, you must present to Pollock Halls Reception Centre:

  • proof of ID and
  • Your University accommodation address.

If you have not fully accepted your accommodation contract offer, you are required to arrive between 09:00 and 17:00 Monday - Friday in order to complete any necessary paperwork with our Allocations Team. You may need to book temporary accommodation in a guest house or youth hostel until your offer is fully accepted.

More information

If you have fully accepted your contract offer of University accommodation, you will be able to move into your accommodation from 12:00 on the commencement date of your lease.

You should collect keys from the Pollock Halls Reception Centre, 18 Holyrood Park Road, EH16 5AY

For Mylnes Court keys should be collected from Richmond Place Reception, 7 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH8 9ST

To receive your keys and tenant information, you must present to Pollock Halls Reception Centre:

  • proof of ID and
  • Your University accommodation address.

If you have not fully accepted your accommodation contract offer, you are required to arrive between 09:00 and 17:00 Monday - Friday in order to complete any necessary paperwork with our Allocations Team or your Accommodation Manager. You may need to book temporary accommodation in a guest house or youth hostel until your offer is fully accepted.

When you arrive in Edinburgh, there are a few things you need to know about checking in to your new University accommodation.

You should familiarise yourself with the arrival procedures for your allocated accommodation so that moving in goes smoothly.

Self-catered flats - arrival procedures including for families, couples and returning students

This information may change before your arrival date, therefore you are advised to check this page for the latest news before setting out
for Edinburgh.